Not Your Ordinary Proper Miss

October 15, 2011 at 11:36 pm Leave a comment

As much as I love the genre, I do have to admit that romance novels sometimes lack diversity. Every heroine is some proper English miss, or some feisty Scottish maiden, or a bold spirited American girl with blond hair and blue eyes. After a while, they can all blend together into one super pale, beautiful pile of womanhood.

Which is why I was super excited to see a refreshing new heroine in One Perfect Flower by Roberta C.M. DeCaprio, my latest review for RT BOOKREVIEWS. Get this: the heroine is an Apache princess whose mother is a former member of the British nobility and whose father is the tribe’s chief.

Fun right? I mean it’s a twofer. You get the “society” of the Regencies with the originality of an Apache heroine. Needless to say, when I read the cover copy for this book, I was quite pumped and ready to roll. Finally, I thought, a heroine to spice things up and bring us a new plot–because obviously this book was not going to be your typical Proper Young Miss Regency.

Well, I was right about that. It was not the typical romance. But I think I set my standards to high.

Such a disappointment. Really it was. Remember my super depressing rant/post on sexual assault in romance novels? Yeah? Well, that was this book. Really a shame. It had such potential to go somewhere and instead I ended up hating the heroine, hating myself, and just feeling sad. All at once. Rule of thumb: when your audience hates themselves after reading your book? Bad sign. Moreover, it is obvious that the author is talented. Her writing was quite nice. Her heroine on the other hand was . . . off-putting.

You can read my review for One Perfect Flower here or by clicking on the image below. But despite the whole misadventure, I really do hope to see more diversity in the romance field. What about Southerners? That could be fun. Or an Indian romance–I mean Imperialism did happen surely someone fell in love during the British occupation of India? Let’s break the Proper Miss mold…

Romantic Question: What heroine/heroes would you like to see more of in romance?

Entry filed under: Book Reviews. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Loving Lisa: Three Reasons to Read Lisa Kleypas

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Archives

Tweet-le-leet


