Who You Calling A Spinster?

September 16, 2011 at 2:30 pm 1 comment

Juliette married her love at 13. Ariel swam into the arms of her Eric at 16. Bella fell irrevocably in love with some dead dude before her 18th.  Hell, even my literary soul mate, Lizzie Bennet, snagged her guy before she reached 21. Do you see a pattern here? Cause I do. And it’s a “Lizzie may be a spinster according to romances” pattern.

Spinster:(spnstr)

n.
1. A woman who has remained single beyond the conventional age for marrying.
2. A single woman with many cats and no love.
3. A person whose occupation is spinning–as in Spinning Class? As in Cougar? Maybe
_______________________________________________________________

Now look at that definition, look at the “conventional age for marrying” according to romances in general, and now look at your own life.  Is it just me or is anyone feeling mildly annoyed at the idea that they have to find True Love before they reach 25?

Cause I do.

Here I am, 22 years-old and unmarried, and according to some of the books in the genre I love so much, I am practically a spinster.  More than that–I am a willing spinster. Jesus, imagining myself married is like imagining a train/car/airplane wreck all into one. It’s scary.

Which is why I have to say, I love me some love stories featuring older characters. Not like Titanic-lady Old. That’s just crazy, but something a little more mature. My HS infatuations didn’t last more than a week much less All Time, and it’s silly to only read romances where they do.

One of my favorite Love Outside of Teenage Years romances is Nora Robert’s The Villa, a fun, suspenseful romance where love spans three generations of Giambellis women: Tereza the grandmother, Pilar the mother and Sophie the daughter. All three women are completely relatable and aren’t perfect when it comes to love.  Tereza was widowed at a young age.  Pilar’s husband left her for a younger woman. And Sophie is married to her work. Yet by the end of the book, all three women find their happy ending.

That’s why I personally enjoy romances that feature older characters. Because let’s face it, sometimes Regencies and Medievals … they can make you feel like an old spinster with no suitable prospects. Reality check? There is still hope and I can still find love after the ripe old age of 20.

Entry filed under: Ramblings on Romance, Suggest Me Something: Lists. Tags: , , , , , , .

How Are They Not Blind?!? Cruel to be Kind…or Just Kinda Cruel

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. jennifer121  |  September 16, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Great post and so true! God, at 22 I didn’t know who I really was let alone want to get married. I was a true spinister I guess, and did not get married or have children until 33 – eeks! And I LOVE The Villa. Another great one is Susan Elizabeth Phillips – she has wonderful secondary plots with older heroes and heroines.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Archives

Tweet-le-leet


