Yeah, this isn’t working out anymore.

August 16, 2011 at 4:36 pm 3 comments

Not to be a Debbie Downer, but I really just don’t like it when my romance novels feature rape–as in current, just happened, in your face and in real time rape.  It’s not cool.  It’s not okay.  And the happy ending does not negate the real problem that sexual assault creates for me.

I know it’s a heavy subject and pretty much a drag, and I know that this blog is pretty light typically, but I was reading a book for review for RT, and literally, the first page was the heroine cleaning up after she was attacked.  And I was like, “Woah,” and the author was like, “NBD,” which made me go, “Hold Up!” And then it killed the rest of the book for me.  Well, that and the fact that the first part of the book seemed to suggest she “deserved it” and a new pattern emerged where the heroine would rashly run off into a dangerous situation, be accosted, and then be saved in the nick of time so a repeat rape did not occur.  And again, I was like, “Woah.”

Something a little lighter to break the mood

I mean sure. Sometimes I do want my heroines to fall off a cliff and die because of their stupid behavior. But this book took TSTL to a whole new and dark level.  After all this heroine knew not to go walking alone and night.  Then she did, so she was raped.  She knew not to go into a saloon alone half-dressed in the middle of the night. And she did, so she was attacked.  Then again, she knew not to go into a saloon alone and BAM, she was surprised when she was accosted again.  I mean really, author? Really? NOT ALL DANGER NEEDS TO BE OF A SEXUAL NATURE. Plus, now I am in the difficult position of disliking this stupid heroine and feeling guilty for hating her.

Lose. Lose.

But maybe this is all just me.  Maybe other people can be a little more objective and enjoy the romance.  I just know that I really did not enjoy this book and I needed to tell the world about it. And by “world” I mean the few people who actually care about my romance ramblings a.k.a you and my momma.

Entry filed under: Ramblings on Romance. Tags: , , , , .

Men. In. Kilts. (or in this case trews) One Serious Romance

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dogsear  |  August 17, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    You’re not being a Debbie Downer. Sounds awful. Probably penned by a man with both issues and a pseudonym. Say, have you seen a book called Delurium by Lauren Oliver? I saw a banner ad for it and it looked intriguing–it’s sci/fi romance (not sci fantasy, mind you).

    Reply
  • 2. Not Your Ordinary Proper Miss « Reading Romantically  |  October 15, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    […] a disappointment. Really it was. Remember my super depressing rant/post on sexual assault in romance novels? Yeah? Well, that was this book. Really a shame. It had such […]

    Reply
  • 3. Bookish Hobbit  |  October 16, 2011 at 11:12 am

    I suppose that I wouldn’t be against it if the heroine learned from her ordeal, but if she’s continually putting herself into dangerous situations as you’ve described, I’d be wishing that she’d die and put me out of my misery. I’ve stopped reading romances because the heroine can’t stop commenting on how beautiful her man looks in every chapter. I guess I’m not much of the tolerant type.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Archives

Tweet-le-leet


