Little Big City

July 24, 2011 at 1:39 pm 2 comments

I feel like I am in a Western showdown.  Where two men face each other across the dirt packed main street, the big town clock slowly ticking down the time in a most dramatic manner. Tick. Tick. Tick. “This town ain’t big enough for the two of us,” one man says, his dusty fingers itching towards the gun hanging at his side.

You know the image. It’s classic to every single Western ever made.  Only, I’m…

  1. Not a man
  2. Not a gunslinger
  3. In New York City

And yet I feel like I’m in a showdown where this city just ain’t big enough.

My life? I hope not!

Everyone talks about how big New York is, and I mean they do have a point. After all there are like what over 8 million people in this city? But it doesn’t matter.  It’s still a freakin small area of land. And whoever says it isn’t is a liar.  Either that or I am just destined to always run into people I know while out and about…

Let me tell you a story.  Two weeks ago I was down in the Lower West Side doing some shopping and eating with a friend, and we’re talking as I explain my theory that New York really isn’t that big. And BAM–we run into someone who lives down the hall from us–note we all live in the Upper West Side so it’s not like we were just in the area. Then not 5 minutes after we see our neighbor, I run into my  freshman year roommate.  So random.  We rarely ran into each other on a small campus with like 2,000 students, yet we managed to run into each other in freakin New York City.

But these are not singular circumstances. Oh no! My best Ria was living in this “city” two years ago for a summer internship, and there she was walking home after work one day and she literally bumps into three people from our college on the street. Drama was it was three people who she didn’t necessarily get along with.

The same? Maybe...

So yeah. Lesson learned from Ria? Make sure you check your book of potential nemeses before moving to New York because you just may see them walking down the street!

Entry filed under: Random Life of Lizzie. Tags: , , , , .

You Hate Me, I Just Know It! The Alpha and the Beta

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Liz  |  July 28, 2011 at 11:41 am

    hahahahhahahahahahaahahhahahah……

    Reply
    • 2. Lizzie  |  July 28, 2011 at 11:05 pm

      You know what I’m talking about here….don’t even pretend you dont 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Archives

Tweet-le-leet


