Cold Turkeys and Book Workshop Week

July 11, 2011 at 1:42 pm 1 comment

Pages upon pages upon pages...

I got a text message last week from my mother that said, “No words : ( No Tweets : ( No blog : ( No facebook : ( ?????” When I finally found time to call her back three days later she accused me of making her go cold turnkey. “You’ve abandoned me!” she said, “You’ve given up on your blog and I am going through withdrawals.”

Opps! Sorry Momma! But, no I have not fallen off the face of the earth into an alternative dimension. Nor have I completely forsaken this blog.  I’ve just been insanely busy.  And going slightly insane.  Where to begin…

Well, last week was book workshop week at Columbia and it was insane.  Intense.  Overwhelming.  I got a cold.  Basically, they split us up into small groups where we had to come up with our own fictional publishing imprint.  Then we had to come up with our Fall 2012 catalog.  Then we had to perform a specific job within our group all in a week.

I was in publicity which means in a week I did press releases, pitch letters, and press kits for six fake books–that could literally be real titles as we had to find real authors for these fake books and draw up fake contracts with these real authors’ real agents.  I also worked on the marketing and promotion plans, tip sheets, and random brainstorming.  Imagine–if you will–a giant role-playing game where the judges are professional editors, publicists, agents, and sales people and then add-on late nights, bad lighting, and the illusion that all of it is real.  All of our titles had to realistic book ideas and we could not “publish” anything fictional without a manuscript.

Golly gee, I am still having surreal moments when I forget that those titles are not actual books coming out in a year.

My group was a general trade group that “published” biographies, memoirs, sports books, cookbooks, fiction, and pretty much everything in between.  And well, you know me…when coming up with ideas for these crazy books I had to bring a little romance to the table.  Enter Lizzie’s contributions to Trade Group C.  One real life romance novel–which I tracked down a manuscript for using the wonderful invention of the World Wide Web–and a romance-y nonfiction book.  My group looked at me like I was mildly insane at first, but we got great feed back and by the end of the week, several people asked me for recommendations for my favorite romance novels. Pat on my back? Why thank you!

So that’s where I’ve been dear friends.  Role playing publicist in the hallowed halls at Columbia University.  Here’s something sweet and southern and romantic to make it up to you!

KRISPY KREME DOUGHNUT BREAD PUDDING from Linda Howard’s Drop Dead Gorgeous

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Ingredients:
– 2 dozen Krispy Kreme glazed doughnuts, torn into little chunks. (You can also use 2 dozen glazed crullers if you want a heavier texture.)
– 3 eggs, beaten.
– 1 can sweetened condensed milk.
– Vanilla flavoring to taste (I use 1 tsp).
– 1/2 stick melted butter.
– Cinnamon to taste. Takes more than you think. Just add until you think it tastes right.
– Can of fruit cocktail OR milk

Instructions:
Combine the eggs, condensed milk, vanilla, melted butter, and cinnamon (like I said, add until you like the taste).

Pour over doughnut chunks and stir (I use my Kitchen Aid. This can be hard on your arms and shoulders.)

At this point it’s going to look really dry so you can either add a can of fruit cocktail like I do (it really cuts the sweetness) or, if that freaks you out, add milk while stirring until you have a lumpy cake batter consistency.

You don’t need milk if you add the fruit cocktail–it’s the perfect amount of liquid.

Now you can add 1 cup of chopped pecans if you’d like. Or not. Depends on your preference. It’s great both ways. The pecans again cut down on the sweetness.

Now you can add 1 tsp of nutmeg if you want to. I’ve found I prefer it without.

Pour this into a 13 x 9 glass pan and cook for 30 minutes. Test with a toothpick to see if it’s done. If not, give it a couple more minutes.

Take it out and let it cool. You can eat it this way or you can add a glaze.

SIMPLE SUGAR GLAZE – this is the glaze I use

Ingredients:
– 2 cups confectioners’ sugar
– 3 to 4 tablespoons milk or water

Instructions:
Mix together and beat until it becomes smooth and pourable. Pour over bread pudding. You can make more if you need to.

BUTTERMILK GLAZE

Ingredients:
– 1/4 cup buttermilk
– 1/2 cup sugar
– 1/4 tsp soda
– 1 1/2 tsps cornstarch
– 1/4 cup margarine
– 1 1/2 tsps vanilla

Instructions:
Combine first five ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Remove from the heat and cool slightly. Add the vanilla. Pour over pudding.

Entry filed under: Random Life of Lizzie. Tags: , , , , , , .

PenguinUSA: The Future of Publishing! Many Faces in Many Places

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Debbie Poteet  |  July 11, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    Glad to see you are back! Been missing your blogs. Now I am a happy Mamma.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Archives

Tweet-le-leet


