Like A Movie…Only Smaller!

June 22, 2011 at 4:44 pm 5 comments

I am obsessed with trailers.  Completely obsessed.  They are like mini-movies for a quick fix of worthwhile YouTube.  Perfect for those times when you only have a few minutes to spare but want guaranteed quality.  More than that, they are informative! It’s a win-win. And who doesn’t love a win-win? Only losers-losers.

But I love more than just movie and TV trailers (yes there are trailers for new pilots).  No, dearest friends, my favorite form of trailer is the book trailer! In our digital age, the book trailer allows me to get a feel for the book without having to read the summary on Amazon or B&N.com. More than that, it allows super visual people like myself–who do judge books my their colors and appearances–a chance to really see what the book is about when they can’t pick it up physically.  In a word, book trailers are genius.

Therefore, when David Young (Chairman and CEO of Hachette Book Group) came to the CPC and showed us the YouTube book trailer of Abe Lincoln: Vampire Hunter (which I’ve mentioned in a past post as I love Lincoln and Vampires) during his speech, I was like, “YES! Mini-movie time!”  However, I was also a little shocked…

Now, I know you all are going, “Ummm, Lizzie, so what?!? We’ve seen that epic trailer where our beloved 16th president wields an axe like a bearded Buffy.”  See, the surprise my friends was not that he showed the video.  After all, it is a great trailer.  No, the surprise came from my peers’ reactions to this vid.  They were shocked that books had trailers.

I know.  They were shocked that there are book trailers. And this makes me sad.  I love book trailers.  They are wonderful.  Sometimes I just go online and watch random ones for the fun of it.

So this post is dedicated to you, dearest friends who live under rocks and have somehow missed the whole-wide-world of book trailers.  I give to you a few…quite a few…of my favorite videos.  Enjoy! I certainly did!

Entry filed under: Book Trailers, Random Life of Lizzie. Tags: , , , , , , .

15 Reasons… A little scandal and a lot cute!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  June 22, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    I DIDN’T KNOW THERE WERE BOOK TRAILERS!! I have been living under a rock! Thank you for enlightening me. Trailers are my favorite part of movies, so I am very excited. Thank you for giving meaning to my schedule free summer life!
    PS I’m “hanging out” with you now through commenting on your blog, as promised 😛

    Reply
    • 2. Lizzie  |  June 22, 2011 at 11:55 pm

      Glad I could share the love with you! I will make sure to post any other trailers I find! I just got so excited with these that I was like NEED THEM ALL!

      Reply
  • 3. Jennifer Probst  |  June 23, 2011 at 8:40 am

    On my to do list is to get book trailers done for my books – so thanks for sharing some great ones!

    Reply
  • 4. dogsear  |  June 23, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    I had never seen a book trailer before either. I’ve seen online videos of authors promoting their wares and I’ve seen James Patterson swear to kill off his protagonist in TV commercials if enough people don’t buy his latest thriller, but nothing like these. I think book trailers are a good idea. I want to see more. The animated one for Linger was beautiful, rather awesome even.

    Reply
    • 5. dogsear  |  July 22, 2011 at 1:58 pm

      A :58 sec trailer for Timeless: http://www.amazon.com/Timeless-Alexandra-Monir/dp/0385738382/ref=pd_ys_qtk_general_recs_152

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Archives

Tweet-le-leet


