These Are a Few of My Favorite Things: The Assignment

June 18, 2011 at 2:48 pm 2 comments

I’ve been in a very musical mood lately, so when I got my early assignment from Columbia to make a list of my favorite books, I put on my Julie Andrews hat and busted a move–a skip, hop, jump dance move–and started to sing: “WHEN THE DOG BITES, WHEN THE BEE STING, WHEN I’M FEELING SA-A-A-A-DDDDD!”  Obviously, by my use of caps, you can tell that

  1. I was not singing it well
  2. I was singing it loud

But the point is I was so in a Sound of Music mood.  I was Maria…minus the nun thing and that nanny thing and well the boy haircut thing.  But who cares.  The hills were alive (and no they did not have eyes) and I was off making my list of favorite books!

Now, I am sure other people in the program have very deep and significant lists (note: other Columbia Pub Courser Simple Little Bookworm‘s list was quite lovely like mine…no offense to her taste?) that include so many interesting and nice things, but my list was uniquely me and was a Romance List Extraordinaire.  Cause I’m cool like that.

ANOTHER FAVROITE THING: Cupcakes!

So dearest friends, when your dog accidentally mistakes your foot for a chew toy, you decide that honey is worth the danger, and when you watch anything related to freakin Nicholas Sparks, take a peak at one of my favorite things and then it won’t be so bad…

  1. Crusie, Jennifer. Faking It
    • Fresh, smart, funny, and sexy, Faking It is not about a perfect romance but a crazy, convoluted relationship between two imperfect people.
  2. Gabaldon. Diana. Outlander.
    • As my biffle Amanda said once, “It’s really realistic. It’s about a nurse who goes back in time…” But basically the best example of an epic historical romance.  Plus, I love Scottish romances…
  3. Garwood, Julie. Ransom.
    • A smart and engaging historical romance, this book epitomizes the genre with it’s bold, relatable characters, sharp dialogue, and passionate storyline. Plus…it’s Scottish…I’m seeing a trend here…
  4. Howard, Linda. Mr. Perfect.
    • Along with a well-developed romance, this romantic suspense shines with humor and sarcasm. Jaine is a bitch and I love her for it! Plus, the hero is a cop and I may be in love with cop heroes.
  5. Johansen, Iris. The Ugly Duckling
    • The sizzling chemistry between the characters combined with cleverly crafted intrigue in this book make it a compelling and unpredictable romantic suspense.
  6. Mitchell, Margaret. Gone with the Wind
    • The first book that I could literally not put down. Scarlet is a flawed, selfish, and strong character that is irresistible and completely human. Plus…it’s about us Southern Girls!
  7. Nix, Garth. Sabriel
    • Instead of a heroine who needs saving, Sabriel is a powerful woman who saves her prince and provides a strong role model for young women.  A great YA. Plus, she also has a talking cat which is cool.
  8. Phillips, Susan Elizabeth. Natural Born Charmer
    • This contemporary romance is well-written with quirky characters, passion, and humor, but is different as it deals with family and second chances. It starts off with the heroine (a woman named Blue) walking down a road in a beaver suite only to meet our super hott professional football bad-boy hero!
  9. Rinaldi, Ann. Break with Charity
    • The first book that actually interested me growing up. A combination of history, romance, and a strong female character showed me that books could be fun.
  10. Rowling, J.K. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
    • Don’t mess with me on this.  This is my favorite Harry Potter book, and I seriously re-read this book every week for a year.  I love the danger, the darkness, the violence, and the mild romance.

So there is my list of favorite things! What would your list look like?

Entry filed under: Ramblings on Romance, Random Life of Lizzie. Tags: , , , , , .

If It’s a Concrete Jungle, Am I the Monkey? 15 Reasons…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. CanaryTheFirst  |  June 18, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    Mmm, Sabriel. That was a great read! I only wish the sequels lived up to it.

    Reply
  • 2. Amanda  |  June 18, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    So many awesome books!! I think there are only two on here that I haven’t read and I AM ON IT. Outlander is definitely my favorite, but I also really love Faking It and SEP. Maybe I just love Outlander so much because it’s such a realistic portrayal of time travel, thanks for the shout out 🙂 And Jamie is a young Scottish ginger, which doesn’t hurt. Also I want one of those cupcakes (hint: the chocolate one).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Archives

Tweet-le-leet


