If It’s a Concrete Jungle, Am I the Monkey?

June 17, 2011 at 12:01 pm 3 comments

A few years back I met my brother’s roommate/biffle (best friend for life) Tucker who “took his leisure in the Hamptons”–his words–and while I’ve never taken anyone’s leisure or been to the Hamptons–unless you count USA Network’s Royal Pains–sometimes I do like to channel Tucker and claim that I “summer in the City.”  And by the City, I think we all know I mean the City, New York that “concrete jungle where dreams are made of” because apparently there’s nothing you can’t do in New York–besides find affordable housing and take nature hikes.  Those are reserved for other songs and locations.

TBD

Nevertheless, right now I am sitting in my New York City hotel about to start my second summer [note: click here to read about my first summer in NYC]  in the City that Never Sleeps and embark on what people like to call “hell” aka the Columbia Publishing Course.  Golly Gee.  While I am not as paranoid, skittish, wary, and panicked as I was last summer when I came NYC a fresh-faced, suburban girl fresh off the plane from Scotland–so maybe not that panicked after all I had managed to conquer British diving laws and currency during my study abroad–but I still have to say that while I love the opportunities of New York, I am not a fan of the city itself.  It is dirty and loud and hectic and filled with people and public transport and it’s too big and I don’t know if I am going to like living in Harlem.  But on the bright side…

I’m in Freakin New York about to study Freakin Publishing at Freakin Columbia University.  Yeah.

They went to Columbia...maybe I too will turn into a Gossip Girl over the summer

So dear friends, say a little non-denomination and non-religious prayer for me and my newest New York adventure. May it be devoid of panic attacks and filled with success. And pick up my current New York inspired read, a re-release of Loveswept’s An Unexpected Song by Iris Johansen about a Broadway star and her sexy, mysterious producer.

Romantic Question: Is the City really all that sexy? And do you have any City inspired reads for me?

Entry filed under: Random Life of Lizzie. Tags: , , , , , .

My Literary Vampire Weekend These Are a Few of My Favorite Things: The Assignment

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Spencer A. Freeman  |  June 18, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    My scattered comments will be best explained in list form 🙂

    1. I am insanely jealous of your admittance into the prestigious publishing program.
    2. I will be living vicariously through you as you dive head first into the pool of literary goodness (Be sure to photograph EVERYTHING — from your dorm to your classrooms — for me to follow along… you think I’m kidding… I’m most definitely not!).
    3. The City is most definitely sexy, in a grungy, I-don’t-care-what-people-think sort of way. It’s the city we all love to hate.
    4. City-inspired reads: “Little Lady, Big Apple,” “Shopaholic Takes Manhattan,” and of course, the wickedly delicious Gossip Girl series (I swear if you ever see GG filming you must photograph and inform me ASAP!).
    5. Good luck & God speed!

    Reply
    • 2. Lizzie  |  June 18, 2011 at 5:51 pm

      Haha I will take many pictures and then it will be like you are there! Most of the pics will be of cupcakes but I’ll try to get some of Columbia too 😉

      Reply
      • 3. Spencer A. Freeman  |  June 18, 2011 at 8:04 pm

        You’re a girl after my own heart! 😀

        PS: http://twitpic.com/5diog4
        PPS: http://bit.ly/mREMS8

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Archives

Tweet-le-leet


