Dear Nicholas Sparks, I hate you! Love Lizzie

May 22, 2011 at 9:58 pm 4 comments

I am not a pretty crier

I hate crying.  I hate it.  You know in the movies when the heroine, the romantic lead, starts to cry, silent, poignant, beautiful tears dripping down her face? Yeah. That’s not me.  I am a mess.  Eyes puffy, mascara running, nose red.  And once I start crying? There’s no stopping me.  I am like a damn of emotion–break that levy and say Bye-Bye to your farmlands and valleys cause there’s gonna be a flood.

And today there was a Big Flood.  Oh my goodness.  I am never graduating again.  It is terrible.

I look a little like this...

Filled with emotion and hugs and good-byes, graduation is one of the worse experiences I’ve had in a long time.  Needless to say, I have been crying for hours since I realized, “Damn, I am leaving this school behind for forever, and tomorrow I wont be able to randomly text my bestie Ria at 2:00 am for a coffee run, or walk into the apartment and yell out for Nic, my roomie, so that we can randomly watch the 10th Kingdom together.”  All of my meals wont be with the same people in the same dinning hall.  No more gossiping in the student union, no more sketchy school dances, no more drunken nights at the student pub.  Jesus. I think I’m going to cry again…

Woe To Me + Hello Kitty

Crying sucks.  Major.  I hate it.  So why Mr. Sparks do you think it is fun to make me cry? Hmmm?  Seriously, your books are like graduation.  Chapters and chapters filled with fun and life and love and epicness, and then you rip out my heart in the end and kill me with leukemia, some kind of flood, alzheimer’s.  I am not cool with this.  I am not cool with this at all.  Why do you hate me so much?  Do you get some kind of sick perverse pleasure out of seeing me an emotional wreck?  Do you think it’s funny, Mr. Sparks, to see my eyes puffy and red?  Because, I don’t think it’s funny at all.  In fact I think it is cruel.  I like my love stories with Happy Endings.  I don’t read to hear about romance that dies.  I hate Romeo and Juliet.  It’s depressing and she was 13 so unless gnomes are acting it out for me, I don’t want to hear about some “great tragic love.”  Give me that fucking happy ending or else I am going to lock you in a room with my sobbing person and show you what your cruelty has wrought.

Love,

Lizzie

Entry filed under: Ramblings on Romance, Random Life of Lizzie. Tags: , , , , , .

As We Go On… Mood Music: Country Cowboys and Banjos

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  May 23, 2011 at 11:48 am

    I love the Tenth Kingdom! And graduation does suck, but the real world has its charms. Good friendships don’t fade. They just readjust a little.

    Reply
  • 2. Stephanie  |  May 23, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    Well, I tend to cry even at happy endings! Went to see Wicked yesterday and if I hadn’t been surrounded by a few thousand people in a swanky theater, there would have been mega tears running down my cheeks. Gave myself a headache by holding it in!

    But I totally get what you mean. Look at Titanic. Bawl my eyes out every single time…and I never stop hoping it will end differently. same with The Notebook. But to me, that sorta ends happily…they die together and that seems like the perfect way to go. Neither has to live without the other.

    Reply
    • 3. Lizzie Poteet  |  May 23, 2011 at 4:14 pm

      Haha “For Good” always gets to me! And for some reason I was like let’s listen to the saddest song ever on graduation so I’m on the same page as you with that! I was not super depressed with The Notebook but Walk to Remember kills me. Like a knife to the heart!

      Reply
      • 4. Stephanie  |  May 23, 2011 at 5:27 pm

        Oh yeah, that’s one a tough one!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Archives

Tweet-le-leet


