Tall, Dark, and Dangerous: The Navy SEAL

May 19, 2011 at 5:02 pm 2 comments

I like to Google myself.  I know it is the epitome of vanity, but hey, it’s who I am. And really, you can find some fun things.  For example, sometimes I spontaneously enter contests online only to forget about them.  If I didn’t Google myself I would never have found out that yes, I am indeed a winner.  Validation! Literally.  I won two contests I don’t even remember entering, and I found out because I searched my name online.  I’ve also discovered that I was in an episode of M*A*S*H, I am an expert on American Shorthorn herds, and some old stuff about me from high school.  Bet you never would have guessed I won the “Faith in Film” class award senior year huh? So yeah, Googling one’s self is fun!

Along with Googling “Lizzie Poteet,” I also Google “romance novels.”  Also really fun. Recently, I came across a news article in the Minneapolis StarTribune about the “new” trend in romance novels: stories featuring Navy SEALs as a result of the capture of Bin Laden (article here). And while I agree that yes, Navy SEALs are indeed sexy, I have to question whether they could be called a new trend. In fact–despite the title and byline–the article itself proved that Navy SEALs have been capturing the imaginations of romance readers for some time now!

I love me some romantic suspenses featuring the hunky, deadly SEALs. Yum. Seriously. But I’ve been a fan of these uber-heroes since the beginning of my romance days–even before I admitted I liked romances! Take my beloved Joe Quinn (who worked his way into readers’ hearts in 1999) for example.  This shiver-worthy hero in Iris Johansen’s Eve Duncan series is dangerous, possessive, passionate, and a former Navy SEAL. God, I love that man.  Then there is Zane Mackenzie, the tough, smart, sexy as sin SEAL in Linda Howard’s Mackenzie Collection.  His story was first released in 1996–WAY before the Bin Laden. Even my beloved Jenny Crusie has an ex-SEAL in her romance with Bob Mayer, Don’t Look Down. Not to mention Suzanne Brockmann’s numerous romances!  Based on my own reading, I would say SEALs have always been sexy.  There’s something about the whole elite military training thing.

And their Amazon Links: Rough and Ready (2006)  SEALed with a Kiss (2008) Peal Jinx (2007) Into Danger (2003)  Killing Game (2000)

The SEALs are tough–the modern day Knight in Shining Armor, and while modern women aren’t the typical damsels in distress, there’s still something about a man who can take care of a situation if needed.  But what about you dearest friend? Do you find military heroes to be a turn on or a turn off?  And do you think the SEALs are a trend or a romance staple?

Entry filed under: Ramblings on Romance, Random Life of Lizzie. Tags: , , , , , , .

Book Review: Portrait of Seduction by Carrie Lofty A Blazing Hot Cover: A How To

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  May 19, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    I think it’s so funny that all of a sudden non-romance readers want to read SEAL romances, like it’s something new! Personally, I love a tough guy in a uniform…Suz Brockmann’s are my favorites, but now I’m going to go check out Joe Quinn. A SEAL who went to Harvard? Oh, yes please!

    Reply
    • 2. Lizzie Poteet  |  May 20, 2011 at 12:16 pm

      I know! When I read the article title, I was like …ummm…excuse me SEALs have been around in romance forever! And if you like the amazing Ms. Brockmann then you will love Johansen’s Joe Quinn–one of my favorite characters. Period.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Archives

Tweet-le-leet


