Royal Wedding Fever: Where’s the Aspirin?

April 15, 2011 at 12:45 am 4 comments


Im too cute for words. Agreed.

I love fairytales as much as any gal who was Cinderella bride for two consecutive Halloweens in a row.  I’ve got all the classics: Cinderella, Little Mermaid, Anastasia, The Beautician and the Beast on DVD.  Who doesn’t?  However, all of the “Kate Watches” and “Royal Countdowns” are giving me a headache!  The Royal Wedding Fever needs to break! I can’t take much more before I throw my romance novels at E!News…Thus hurting my poor romances and potentially my TV depending on the size of the book and quality–I have a feeling Diana Gabaldon’s hardback Outlander would create a whole lotta damage.

Yes, it’s exciting. Weddings are always happy occasions–well usually, my parent’s wedding photos are pretty gloomy what with the 80’s fashion and all.  But I mean, weddings have pretty dresses, cakes that look like little houses, and ugly hats.  Just add a real life prince to that already combustive cocktail of fun and BAM! Instant madness, an out-of-control fever.

But really E!, you are going to have 5 HOURS of live streaming from the Royal Wedding?!? Is that not excessive? Better yet, do weddings even take 5 hours??? Come on dearest friends!  We’re not even British.  We’re American.  In case you missed it, there was a BIG Tea Party–and not the kind in Washington right now–but with actual tea and Paul Revere rode some kind of horse yelling about red coats.  That ring any bells?  Why. Do. We. Care. So. Much?

Apparently we care because we have no lives.  So dearest reader, put down that remote.  Stop watching re-runs of “Kate’s Best Dress” moments.  Please, do it for me.  Turn off TV Guide’s continual specials on the poor, poor couple.  Instead of watching authentic British people–whose only qualifications are that they are indeed British–discuss Kate’s dress for nearly two hours, why don’t you try a romance with some nobility and happily-ever-afters?

Christina Dodd just released a sexy Victorian era historical about a hunky royal in her novel Taken by the Prince.   Think about it: an hour watching people guess at Will and Kate’s–yeah, first name basis with some royal strangers–potential wedding flowers, or a steamy novel about a governess, revolution, and a man named Raul?  How could you not love a name like that? Or if hunky Princes aren’t your deal, pick up Julie Garwood’s Shadow Music for a little Highland heat.  A laird, a princess, a nefarious scheme.  What’s not to love?  Harlequin even has a whole Royal Wedding line of ebooks for you to check out following real life royal couples.

So dearest friends, please for my sake, take this royal wedding aspirin.  Prescribed dosage: three chapters (0r more) a day of one of these “royal” romances.  Give E! a rest, try to break the fever. But before you do…one last Royal Wedding Hooray! A shout-out to my glory days abroad at St. Andrews:

Royal Question:  What do you think about all of the hoopla surrounding the Big Day for Will and Kate? Are you at your breaking point like me, or do you want more?  Furthermore, dearest friends: is the royal theme in romances a trend? Or will it stick around post-wedding daze?

Entry filed under: Ramblings on Romance, Random Life of Lizzie. Tags: , , , , , , .

An A on My Hamlet Paper A Highland Laird….Yum

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  April 15, 2011 at 9:32 am

    There really is a lot of hoopla…and maybe it is necessary for the British..but for us, no. Yeah, I’m interested to see this super secret dress, but not to the point where I will watch the coverage. I’ll see it the next day online. I’ll click, look for two seconds, then move on. As a former floral designer myself, yeah, I’m interested I seeing the crazy flowers they’ll do, but again, I’ll see them online.

    Reply
    • 2. Lizzie Poteet  |  April 15, 2011 at 12:30 pm

      Agreed: The dresses and flowers are my favorite parts. I will def check them out in People the next day or online like I would any other famous wedding. But it’s ridiculous to see “Joe Smith Florist for Elton John and Elizabeth Hurley” talk about the type of flowers Kate may pick!

      Reply
  • 3. Julia  |  April 17, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    I loved that music video. I’ll take one of those boys, please.

    Reply
    • 4. Lizzie Poteet  |  April 19, 2011 at 1:36 am

      Good god me too! I mean…[fans self] I love a man who can sing. I also really want to go back! I miss it so much!!!! Which means I hate you for going next year.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Archives

Tweet-le-leet


