Confessions of a Wannabe Cougar

April 13, 2011 at 1:55 pm 4 comments

Hello, my name is Lizzie, and I am currently formulating a plan to become a Cougar.

Not quite there!

I know what you’re saying, it’s probably the same thing my mother has been trying to tell me: “Lizzie, you’re 22 years-old.  You can’t be a cougar.  It would be illegal.”  Okay, yes.  That is a valid point.  But I’m not talking about just any random predatory female. I’m formulating a plan to become the most elusive form: the College Cougar.

Senior year brings many things: mounds of papers, seminars that make you cry, nights of semi-excessive drinking, boatloads of worry about The Future.  But for the females at my college, senior year brings a curse.  A curse and a label: College Cougars (technically, we are called [Insert Name of College Here] Cougars, but for the sake of anonymity, I shall stick with College Cougars in this post).  Oh the College Cougar. An elusive creature, the CC only comes out at night, hunting for prey, younger prey, on college campuses across the United States.  There’s been quite a bit of press concerning the Cougar in society: older woman, younger man.  But rarely do you think of the term cougar applying to college students.  Demi Moore? Yes. Definite Cougar.  Little ol’ Lizzie? No way!  As I said before, I’m much too young.

But see on my campus, well, it’s slim pickins for a underclassman in the Love Department.  What can I say, it’s a small school.  But once you get to senior year?  Really what are your options? You’re at the top of the ladder.  Senior boys are dating freshman girls.  We don’t have a graduate school, so there goes anyone else.  What’s a girl to do?  Easy. Date a younger boy.  Hence the College Cougar.  It’s a curse like lycanthropy.  We can’t really escape it.

Now, of my friend group, four have dated or are dating younger men.  Initially, I was like, “Okay, live and let live.”  But recently everything changed.  My roommate has decided to make our apartment group shirts.  Epic T-Shirts of awesome.  Problem? She wants them to say Entering Cougarville.  Not cool cause as I’ve yet to make my entrance into the world of Cougar-ness.  I DONT GET A T-SHIRT.  Hence my newest quest: date a younger man.

I think my best course of action is honesty.  Approach the prey, say “Hey, I want a T-shirt, go to a movie with me?” And take it from there.  I have it on good authority that to become a CC, I just need one date with a younger man–isn’t it funny how labels can stick?  Sigh.  I think it would just be easier if we changed the T-Shirt slogan, but my roomie isn’t budging and she hates me.  Okay, not really, but she’s a bit evil. So there you go dearest friends. My confession.

Romance Connection?

While Cougars are not exactly popular in romance novels, they do pop up from time to time! So if you are like me and looking to get a super awesome cougar shirt, you’d better study up by reading on of these lovely romances!

    • Transported back to the Regency period, surrounded by those hunky younger lords? Take your cues from a steamy historical romance:
    • Modern day gal like me? Your guide-book is a contemporary romance:
    • Find yourself in dangerous waters with a younger hottie?  Try an exciting romantic suspense:
    • Fall through a magical time ring and involved in an epic saga during the Jacobite Revolt? This is your book:

There you go! I hope you enjoy a little Cougar-ness in your life.

Entry filed under: Random Life of Lizzie, Suggest Me Something: Lists. Tags: , , , , , .

Deadly New Gossip Girl An A on My Hamlet Paper

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  April 13, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    LOL!! The College Cougar..I love it!! Good luck on getting your shirt!!

    My debut novel has a cougar…she’s 32, he’s 24. Fun little fling turns into much more! 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Lizzie Poteet  |  April 15, 2011 at 4:02 pm

      So far no shirt, but new friends have now come forward with the whole: “Guess what?!? I get a shirt now too” comments, which is just mean. But I love that your heroine is a cougar! Definitely don’t see enough of them in romances. I’ll have to check it out 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Julia  |  April 13, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    As much as I want to share this experience with you – I can’t. Older men are the way to go.

    If I wrote a blog, it would be about how I plan to become a gold-digger. But that’s for another day.

    Reply
    • 4. Lizzie Poteet  |  April 15, 2011 at 4:03 pm

      Well if you want to contribute a guest post about the merits of Gold Digging as a lifestyle option then I will post it….I’m sure I can come up with some romances to compliment it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Archives

Tweet-le-leet


