Review: The Bride’s Baby by Liz Fielding

April 7, 2011 at 9:04 pm 4 comments

Most of my past book reviews are handily located on Goodreads, which is great for me, but unless you visit Goodreads…Not so great for you!  Therefore, I have decided to spend a few posts each week updating my book review section!  To start my review for The Bride’s Baby (Harlequin Romance) by Liz Fielding.  Enjoy!

Her Something New Was Less Traditional

Though the characters are generally likable, The Bride’s Baby has some serious trouble spots within the narrative that keep it from being truly more than a two star rating for me. The story is hard to follow and by the end of it, I was so frustrated with the over-the-top miscommunications and misunderstandings that I wanted to scream.

The plot follows wedding planner Sylvie and her relationship with Billionaire Tom. The two have one heated encounter and awkward moment after, leaving Sylvie alone and pregnant. This is all in the first few pages of the book. From there we watch as Tom and Sylvie progress to first-name basis and attempt to navigate miscommunications, misunderstandings and mistakes. However, despite the easy story-line, Fielding jumps around from past to present to past with no warning. These shifting perspectives really are confusing and blur the already weak links between Sylvie and Tom’s past relationship.

It was an okay read. Not really sexy. Not really believable. But not really bad.

2 Stars

To see my original Goodread’s posting, click here!

Entry filed under: Book Reviews. Tags: , , , , .

Would You Be TSTL? Review: Tempted by a Warrior by Amanda Scott

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  April 7, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    I could not get into this one at all….had to put it down.

    Reply
  • 2. Spencer A. Freeman  |  April 8, 2011 at 12:44 am

    Twinsies! Get out of my head! I was JUST posting a GR review to my blog! 😉 Sucks that The Bride’s Baby was bleh…hopefully the next one makes up for it!

    Reply
    • 3. Lizzie Poteet  |  April 8, 2011 at 10:30 am

      And by great minds you mean lazy? Cause I’m def a lazy mind right now 😉

      Reply
  • 4. Spencer  |  April 8, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    You know it! Like I said, two peas in a pod 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Archives

Tweet-le-leet


