Y A Young Adult Book Is Perfect for You!

April 1, 2011 at 4:47 pm 2 comments

“Well, I kinda love…well, I kinda love…” My friend Lisa pauses, leaning towards me like she’s about to tell me some great secret.  Taking a deep breath she bluts out, “Ikindaloveyoungadultromances.”

Translation: Lisa loves young adult romance novels. 

And I mean, why shouldn’t she love YA? So what if she is a twenty-something year old? I mean I have a whole bookshelf devoted to some of my YA favs.  Garth Nix’s Abhorsen Trilogy.  Lord, I read those books every year. Gayle Carson Levine’s fairytale Ella Enchanted. Another great fairytale Robin McKinley’s wonderful versioin of the Beauty and the Beast: Beauty.  Cynthia Voigt’s Elske. Then there are the classics like Ann Rinaldi’s historical novels, which are basically the tame version of the historical romance.  I still have my well-worn copy of Time Enough for Drums, the super romantic story of fiery Jemima Emerson, who struggles with family, lotality, and love during the Revolutuonary War.  Back in the day–a.k.a. middle school–that book was beyond sexy (or what I assumed sexy would be), and I still think it is amazing now that I am older.

You don’t need to be a young adult to love YA romances.  Yes, quite of few of their plots deal with issues that young adults face: growing older, falling in love, high school.  But really, at the core of a lot of these novels is a simply great love story that you can relate to no matter what your age.

So for my weekly suggestion: I say talk a walk down memory lane and pick up one of your favorites or a new classic.  The best YA romances are smart, fresh, and sexy.

Y A Young Adult Started Suggestions!

  • Sabriel by Garth Nix–A fun, fantasy novel that follows title character Sabriel who leaves the safety of her school to find her missing father in the Old Kingdom.  Some talking cats, necromacy, and a sexy prince frozen in time. This awesome book is the first of his Trilogy and is definitely worth reading.

    Beauty is pain.

  • City of Bones by Cassandra Clare–A unique twist on the angel narrative, Bones is the first in Clare’s series.  A fun read with supernatural tone.
  • A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray.  With romance, history, some fantasy, and a very multifacet main character, Bray’s story is a slightly spooky and engaging read.  I loved it as a teen and still love it as an adult!
Entry filed under: Suggest Me Something: Lists. Tags: , , , , .

Reading the “Road Signs:” A Book Review Green Is the New Blond: Seeing Romance Plots in Everyday

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Siobhan  |  April 1, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    I really like YA fiction too. I’ll keep an eye out for these. I read a blogger complaining that a Young Adult book felt like it was written for young adults earlier. Go figure!

    Reply
    • 2. Lizzie Poteet  |  April 1, 2011 at 10:33 pm

      I love the genre! Sure there are some where I am like, “Really girl? You are like 14. How do you know you want to marry him?!?” But for the most part I think the plots are usually quite clever–plus YA does fantasy the way I like it–some good romance, a kick-ass heroine, and just enough detail to make it believable but not so much that I am lost in space–or some made up kingdom with five moons and a caste system of magic abilities based on complex numerology!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Archives

Tweet-le-leet


